Mom back in ICU

Yesterday Mom went to get herself some ice. She dropped it and passed out. I took her to the ER and she was admitted to the ICU with anemia and low blood pressure. Over the course of the night she was given three units of blood. She is still anemic, and her blood pressure is now around 90 over 40, which is not very low.

We are waiting for a surgeon to come wander by and schedule a scope so they can start to try to figure out where she is loosing blood. Who knows how long that will take.

She is in the smaller hospital, closer to her home. They do not have free wireless service, but they are half a mile from my usual free hot spot, so I will be able to get here and update periodically.

United Airlines has rescheduled my departure for August 11, and they didn’t charge me a thing for it (even though I had the cheapest possible ticket to begin with). So that is good. I am also grateful that if she was going to have a set-back she did it while I was still here.

I did tell her that if she wanted me to stay longer she only had to ask. All this fuss is really over-kill.

She said she wanted to make a convincing case.

3 Responses

  1. I am so sorry this has happened, I was all relieved about her! Hang in there.

  2. Oh no.

    Hope this gets resolved quickly.

    Love the sense of humor!

  3. Sorry she is back in the hospital. Glad you were able to still be there. Sending lots of good thoughts and energies.

Leave a Reply

